We are a family operated business in the heart of historic Wooten Canyon. Once known as the final water stop for the Cloud Climbing Railroad, last operated in 1938. Now Wooten park is a picturesque place rich with various fruit trees. A warm inviting getaway with breath-taking mountain views. We have refurbished the historic cabin and have instated a RV park for those who would like to come enjoy the crisp air of the Rocky Mountains. You may hear elk bugling throughout the mountains or see a deer passing through the park. Our RV site is a short drive from the historic village of Cloudcroft. We wish to communicate the beauty and history to everyone who stays here in the Land of Enchantment.
Make a Reservation
To check our sites and availability click the button bellow
Call us at 1-575-265-0640
How We Came To be
As a family, we have been living in this part of the country for over 50 years. As we began the plans for our business, we knew wanted to bring out the incredible history of Cloudcroft and at the same time showcase to our guests the beauty of the mountains. Lastly we wanted to make each and every guest feel welcome and part of our small but rich community for the time they are here.
Below is the history behind our name, Cloud Climbing Railroad, which is now our brand.
History of Sacramento Mountains RailRoad
As the El Paso and Northeastern Railroad sought passage northward through Alamogordo in the 1890s, a steady of supply of timber was necessary to continue construction on its railroad line. The owners, upon seeing the Sacramento Mountains with its lush forests to their east (the Lincoln National Forest today), decided to build a branch line into the trees/mountains to tap the natural resources there.
The EP&NE survey team found at the summit not only excellent trees for timber, but a potential attraction for tourists with the area's majestic views and abundant natural wildlife. Thus, the town of Cloudcroft ("clearing in the clouds") was born, and the EP&NE quickly built a 26-mile branch line towards the summit. The railroad was called the Alamagordo-Sacramento Mountain Railway, its nickname, "The Cloud-Climbing Railroad", became well-known as the railroad offering spectacular vistas along its route, not to mention its destination "in the clouds". In addition, at the time of its completion, it was the highest standard-gauge track in the world. The line offered both freight and passenger excursion service, often transporting movie stars and other famous guests 6,000 feet upwards into the grand mountains. 58 wooden bridges were constructed, including one "S" bridge (formed by two reverse curves) at a length of 338 feet. Incredible engineering feat at its time!
With the arrival of US Route 82 to Cloudcroft around 1945, traffic on the railroad line diminished.
The town of Cloudcroft itself continues to thrive today as an attractive tourist destination.
The only evidence of the railroad line today is the remains of the trestle over Mexican Canyon, as seen in these pictures.